How I Let Real Life Totally Mess Up My Social Media

I can roll my tongue. I can write with both hands. I can read backwards and upside down. But I can’t do a cartwheel.

I’ve learned that there are many things to which we are predisposed ~ things of which we are, genetically, capable. Yet, as individuals, we have the ability to adapt and accept. We learn, unlearn, relearn and this is, I believe, is what makes us intelligent. What makes us human.

As an introvert, this ‘social media thang’ is a boon to me. It opened up opportunities to meet, and truly connect, with others whom I would otherwise never have had such opportunity. But, as with many boons, it came at a cost. That cost was my time.

Time, as you know, is relative. When you’re late, time is of the essence. When you’re waiting, time is interminable. Were you to truly examine ‘your time’ (and how it really matters to You), it becomes less relative and much more intimate. The time that I had to learn and discover and grow became scarcer. So I decided to let Real Life totally mess up my Social Media.

I shut off my computer. I opened the books I’ve been meaning to read. I fired up the stove. I went outside and, sloughing off (as best I can) my introversion, I focused on and followed my heart. Out there avec les masses. I prefer to do nothing by halves. Inherently passionate when I decide on anything, I learned to snowboard when already (by most accounts) too old to do it and, now, do it very well. I hope that, in my newest pursuits, I will fare as well.

I am studying Tibetan Buddhism. Following my passion for food, I’ll be working on my Chef papers. I spend time on yoga and meditation every day. I take time to read, and learn from, my Social Media friends’ posts and thoughts. I allowed Real Life to get in the way of engaging, as I once did, on social media platforms.

Social media is an extraordinary medium for connecting. I am honoured to have been accepted by and to have connected with so many insightful and inspiring individuals.

I still can’t do a cartwheel. But there’s time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How I Let Real Life Totally Mess Up My Social Media

  1. callahanmcd says:

    hey Tobey. right on. 🙂

  2. Introvert? I’ve met you IRL Tobey D and you are ANYTHING but an introvert! You have a wonderful outgoing charming personality!

  3. john says:

    Hi Tobey,
    We retweeted your fascinating story, we had a couple of retweets and some positive comments about your journey, you really are the man! We have a Taoist on our site you may have something in common. I hope that your journey is an enlightening one.

    Regards, EMC.

  4. I find it interesting how introverts are drawn to social media. I have a similar story, but I am more or a Zen Buddhist then Tibetan. Let me know how your studies go.

  5. Great post. I especially relate to “As an introvert, this ‘social media thang’ is a boon to me. It opened up opportunities to meet, and truly connect, with others whom I would otherwise never have had such opportunity. But, as with many boons, it came at a cost. That cost was my time.”

  6. Clive Roach says:

    Nice post, we should all try and do this on occasions

  7. profkrg says:

    I love it, Tobey! Good for you!

    By the way, I can’t rollerskate or whistle. I’m not really interested in learning, either. I’ve gone this long, right? I think I’ll spend my time on other things. 🙂

  8. Once in a while, Tobey, we really DO need to DIS-connect from the wired world and RE-connect with the real world. Good for you for taking the plunge!!

Leave a Reply

