Go Mobile or Go Home

I tuned into a webinar presented by Richard Robbins with guest Scott Stratten (you know, that UnMarketing guy ;-)). It played in the background while I worked and was interesting with the tips around effective use of social media and unicorns and whatnot. Then Scott mentioned going mobile. This was the take-away that (almost) beat out my favourite cai bao.

Mr. Stratten became quite vexed with marketers who refuse to embrace the growing trend of access to the internet through mobile devices. I could not have agreed more.

A few months ago, I went into Toronto to lunch with a long-time photographer friend. (The only meal I ever eat seems to be lunch). He had recently moved his studio and I was absolutely, positively certain that my steel trap of a brain had memorized his address. (It was just around the corner from an old studio of mine – surely I would remember).

I forgot.

I knew it was on Atlantic Avenue. Somewhere. I walked up and down the street looking for a sign (not from God … just a logo or his name on a door).

Nada.

But wait! I have an iPhone! Plugged his name into Google and Voila!! Oh. A Flash site. Blank screen. No phone number, no address … nothing. No Place Page either. So I looked on his Facebook profile. Nothing helpful there – no phone number or address (I am not making this up). Twitter? He doesn’t subscribe. Indefatigable, I went to Canada411. Success! I found his @#$!!&^% address.

Imagine, for a moment, if I were his client … take your time … (good thing it wasn’t raining). BTW, when I explained my experience to him, he shrugged and said “All my clients know where I am”. Apparently, he requires no new ones.

Mobile v. Web Stats via MashableMashable has additional illuminating stats here.

If you don’t go mobile, clients may go home (or elsewhere). Is it Dead Easy for clients to find your business?

This entry was posted in Just Saying, Social Media Inspired by Smart Folks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Go Mobile or Go Home

  1. Great post, Tobey. With so many available ways to connect, there is still resistance to engage with technology and social media if you didn’t grown up with it (which probably adds up to millions of people!) For those who DO dip their toes in the water, there’s still much to learn about providing and revealing information that makes you accessible. You’re right. If you provide a product or service, make it easy for prospects and clients to find you…and friends too ๐Ÿ™‚ Bon appetit!

    • tobeydeys says:

      Thank you, Helen. You’re right, there is a lot of skepticism around emerging trends. Deny or ignore at one’s peril ๐Ÿ™‚ What really surprised me is this guy has always been pretty savvy around marketing and has embraced new media. (Photogs love Flash but it would be dead easy for him to ensure he had a mobile-friendly version of his site.)
      Thanks for commenting ๐Ÿ™‚ I appreciate it!

  2. Pingback: click2cause Website is launched! | click2cause

Leave a Reply

