Do you Lead with Ambition, Altrusim, or Avarice?

Please watch this very short video (paying extra close attention at 1:28 :-)):

I wouldn’t say I was verklempt when I watched this but it did give me pause. Most people I know have been effected, to a greater or lesser degree, by the economic plummet. The status quo has shifted and I paused to think about an organization with which I was involved and how their leadership team handled the new economic reality.

First came the departmental budget cuts (ok), then contracts weren’t renewed (right – makes sense), then came the downsizing (gentle euphemism for ‘you’re fired’). But wait. There’s more. Just when we thought we could exhale, the ‘request’ came from leadership for remaining employees to assume pay-cuts and reduced benefits. Everyone in the organization complied, for the greater good. Except the Leadership team. Don’t misunderstand (or re-animate Joe McCarthy to hunt me down) – I’ve nothing against making wads of cash and being paid what you’re worth. However, when I see Leaders use the very people who built their success as extinguishers for the burning platform (without throwing themselves onto the flames), I have to raise an eyebrow.

Lisa Petrilli talks about Valor in Leadership in her post today, making wonderful points about sacrifice, loyalty, and love in leadership. Mr Hakura Nishimatsu exemplifies this. The Leadership team in my story is the anti-thesis.

Ambition breeds sound business practice, Altruism engenders trust, and Avarice?

I think Mr. Nishimatsu says it best: “Businesses who pursue money first, fail. The business world has lost sight of this basic tenet of business ethics”.

What do you think of Haruka Nishimatsu’s decision to ‘join the ranks’?

This entry was posted in Food for Thought and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you Lead with Ambition, Altrusim, or Avarice?

  1. Thank you, Tobey – I appreciate such kind words and I absolutely believe he is showing valor as he leads!

    All the very best,
    Lisa Petrilli

Leave a Reply

